Band

Zimbl

Markus Ernst Eugen Zimmer
Vocals / Bass
Born: 7. October 1964
†18. June 2006

read more »

 

Klube

Frank Klubescheidt
Drums
Born: 17. August 1962

read more »

 

Reb

Michael Rebbig
Guitar
Born: 10. August 1967

read more »

 

Pogo

Thomas Möller
Guitar
Born: 24. December 1964

read more »

 

Dully

Tillmann Mathias Schüssler
Guitar
Born: 5. December 1975

read more »

 

Armin

Armin Beck
Guitar
Born: 26. April 1963

read more »

 

Band – History

The detailed band history and the live history (listing of all Bates concerts) you can download here as a PDF. The band history is currently only available in German.

» Band-History (PDF) | » Live-History (PDF)

1987 Foundation of The Bates
The Bates – emerged from “Sticky Fingers” and later “Nuclear Graffiti” (or “Nuclear Graffiti”) – are based in the Eschweger Youth Club. The band at the time consists of Zimbl (vocals, bass), Klube (drums), Pogo (rhythm guitarist) and Armin (lead guitarist). The Bates named themselves after the crazy mother’s son Norman Bates from the movie “Psycho” by Alfred Hitchcock. The film was watched by Zimbl and his friends on a summer night.

1987 / 1988
Between 1987 and 1988 he made demo recordings. The first demo of Bates, the “Blood in the Shower” tape. First “correct” recordings in the studio followed. Sampler contribution 1988: “Wet Look” on the LP-sampler “Not great for great Men” by Weckewerk Records.

1989
Other contributions on samplers: “Who’s That Girl” and “I want you back again” in slightly different versions on the sampler “Rock around Kassel” (Na Nu Records) and “As Tears go by” on the “The Ghost of Brian” Sampler called “The Brian Jones Memorial Album” (Black Fantasy Records) – Jones was the hero for Zimbl, Armin and Heinz in the late ’70s. The band hires on Black Fantasy Records. The album “No Name for the Baby” is recorded and – enriched with cover versions – released.

1990
Meanwhile there is the fan club of the band. The band records their second album “Shake!”. After completion but before the release of the album, lead guitarist Armin Beck leaves the band. For a short while, another guitarist joins the band for a few weeks. He does not record any demos or other recordings and does not perform a live with the band. The band tests more guitarists and hire for the time being on trial in the fall of 1990 Reb. He should play the lead guitar during the autumn and winter tour and should replaced afterwards. The band played the support act on the Christmas tour of “Peter and the Test Tube Babies”.

1991
Again the band is standing in threes. Inevitably follows – after several concerts to three – the search for a new guitarist. For months there are no concerts. Zimbl and Klube found the band The Suzies at this time. In the (early) summer of 1991, Reb is reinstated in the band – the Bates are four again. On 31.10.1991 a concert of the band takes place after several months of a concert break in Eschwege.

1992
The Bates change the label and join Snoop Records. For the first time in the big city, in Berlin Kreuzberg in the Vielklanag studios, the 3rd longplayer “Psycho Junior” is being created. The album will be released in October 1992, by the end of the year about 30 concerts will take place from the summer.

1993
Due to contractual obligations, the first live album “Unfucked” is released on Snoop Records. The Bates gets a major deal at record label Virgin after a couple of foreplay for labels. Once again in Berlin, will be released the album “The Bates” in the fall of 1993 by Virgin. In the winter follows the first shoot of a professional video clip. Fredrik Boklund does a good job in Stockholm with the shooting of the clip “Hello”.

1994
The single “Hello” is released. The album “The Bates” is released. For the first time, the band gained nationwide prominence (especially with the cover of the hit “Hello” by Shakespear’s Sister). The Bates appear on their first noteworthy TV appearance on “RTL Saturday Night”. For the first time there is a promotional tour for an album. In April the “Bubblegumtrash” tour starts, for the first time with concerts during the week. The single for “I’m alright” comes out. Numerous open air performances. Contacts to Die Ärzte emerge. In autumn 1994 the recordings for “Pleasure + Pain” begin in Berlin. In Stockholm, the second professional video will be shot “Say it is not so” at the end of the year.

1995
The single “Say it isn’t so” appears. A few weeks later, “Pleasure + Pain” is released. The album can keep itself in the charts for months (30 weeks total) and creates three re-entries. At the end of May 1995, the band is shooting their probably most professional video clip with the Austrian director duo Dirk Meints & Toni Weiss (DoRo), a short remake of the movie “Psycho”, backed by a very successful cover version of Michael Jackson’s song “Billy Jean” / “Billie Jean”. The single for “Billie Jean” is released and the video is very well received on the music channels. The band plays a very successful spring tour and on several open airs. The awareness is growing extremely, Pop Rocky and Bravo become aware of the band. In the fall begins the much-noticed autumn tour, which follows a Christmas tour. At the end of 1995, a clip was shot in Sweden for the third time: “A real cool time”. The single can not build on the success of “Billie Jean”. In December follows a broadcast of one of the concerts of the Christmas tour on the german Music-TV-Channel Viva.

1996
The band has already played hundreds of concerts. On TV, The Bates have been very present since their successes with Billie Jean and Pleasure + Pain. In the spring of 1996 – meanwhile in the new homeland Kassel – in the “Basement Room no. 1 – the recordings to “Kicks ‘n’ Chicks” begins. In Vienna, two video clips are shot in succession. “It’s getting dark”, a vampire video, and “Poor Boy”, the bullying of the beat club, appear as singles and video clips. In August, “Kicks ‘n’ Chicks” will be released. The band plays numerous concerts and many open air performances.

1997
The band is completely exhausted and have to pause after the release of the second live record “What a beautiful Noise” in January and the tour in March 1997. Klube suffered from the “burnout syndrome”, Zimbl had started drinking above average. Zimbl tries to limit alcohol consumption after undergoing voluntary detoxification. In the fall of 1997, surprisingly almost 6 months before a new album, after many months of live abstinence and a total break, the single “Independent Love Song”, a cover version of Scarlet, appears. Shot again in Vienna this time we are experiencing a remake to “The Silence of the Lambs”. The recordings for a new album – “Intra Venus” – begin.

1998
After more than a year of live abstinence, there will once again be live concerts after the release of “Intra Venus” in spring. On 7.8.1998 a fan club meeting takes place at Kassel (later) for the 10th anniversary of the band. Here, for the first time, the published VHS cassette “The Bates – Videoclips” with all video clips up to “Independent Love Song” can be purchased. A person is assigned to write a volume biography – working title “The Whole Half of the Truth”. This biography will never be finished and of course will not be published. Instead, the Bates play a limited fan club EP in the fall of 1998 called “Punk?”, which appears next to a band comic called “The Devil’s Ponk Band!” – drawn by Klaus Cornfield. To “Be my Baby” appears a heavily limited single – a video clip is not rotated. 28.12.1998: for Pogo the concert in the Frankfurt Batschkapp means his farewell to The Bates. Due to the screwing down of the importance of the band, the remaining members seem to have no choice. The Bates – Klube, Zimbl and Reb – are there in threes.

1999
The search for a second guitarist takes off. The Bates play their album “Right here! Right now! ” by three. For the first time there is an album of the band as Limited Edition with bonus CD. With Dully, the band finds a new guitarist in an old friend of the band. Together with him the clip for “Bitter End” will be shot in summer in Vienna. The “Right here! Right now! “- Falltour 1999 starts on 10.09.1999 – for the first time with Dully. This tour ends on November 6, 1999 in Cologne in the TV studio of Viva. There a concert (“Viva Overdrive Soundfoundation”) is recorded, which will be aired shortened days later. At the beginning of December 1999 the winter tour of the band begins. It ends with a catch-up concert on 6.1.2000 in Fulda.

2000
In the spring, a clean cover album – “2nd Skin” – recorded – for the first time with Dully in the studio. At the end of April the band will fly as a support act for Lolita No. 18 for a few concerts to Japan. It is emerging on the streets and in the subway Tokyo’s last video clip of the band. No. Lolita No. 18 accompany The Bates in return as a support act to Germany. Mid / end of May 2000, the “2nd Skin” tour begins. It ends on 26.08.2000 with a canceled concert. After about two weeks break the band plays an autumn tour to “2nd Skin”. It starts on 12.09. in Nattheim and ends on 7.10.2000 with the last Bates concert in Neunburg vorm Wald / Bavaria. After this concert, The Bates are gone. A planned Christmas tour will be canceled prematurely.

2001
Officially, the ways of the band split in May 2001.

2006
Founding member Markus “Zimbl” Zimmer (vocals / bass) died on June 18, 2006, much too early at the age of 41 in his apartment in Kassel. The cause of death was a circulatory collapse with cardiac arrest. For Zimbl a memorial tribute was held on December 28, 2006 in the Kassler “Spot”. On this tribute, many bands (including Vicki Vomit, Planlos, The Bad Days, etc.) played their own and Bates songs. Also all former members of the Bates band appeared on this evening with their bands. The highlight of the evening was certainly the joint performance of Klube, Reb, Pogo, Dully and Armin, who played together about 30 minutes Bates songs. It was the first Bates concert after 6 years. The tribute also included a limited 3-CD sampler “A Tribute To Zimbl – Rocking On Heaven’s Door”. This was sold out after only a few days. The proceeds of the tribute were donated for good causes.

2007
The-Bates play live with other bands on 28.12.2007 in the Weinberghalle in Frieda under the motto “A Trip To Zimbl”. Again, the proceeds were donated for good causes.

2009
On July 4th, 2009 The-Bates will be performing with other bands under the motto “Bates & Friends – Welcome To The Bates Motel”. Unfortunately, Pogo was missing at this event. The event also included the CD “Welcome To The Bates Motel”, which contains rare old Bates versions and a live recording of the concert in 1990 Kassel.

2011
On 17.12.2011 The Bates will be performing in the E-Werk Eschwege. Again, of course, the good purpose was again in the foreground. Unlike the previous Bates & Friends events, this time It was not talking about a small gig on the sidelines, this time the Bates played a “real concert” with only 2 suport-acts (Reimanns and Radio Havana). The E-Werk was completely sold out.

2012
The Bates will be performing on 04.05.2012 in Knust Hamburg as part of the Fan Rooms Festival (about 1 hour). All artists have renounced the Gage and donated for a good cause.

2014
After the acquisition of EMI (previously took over Virgin Records) by the label Universal Music, the best-of album “The Bates Collection” was released. It is a sampler that contains 3 CDs. The band was not included in the planing of the release. Nonetheless, it is an official release and is well worth buying.

2018
In December 2018 Klubes book “Klube & The Bates” was published by the publisher “Scharzkopf & Schwarzkopf”. This book is the long-awaited “official” biography of the Bates. He wrote with author Christof Dörr. The 1st autographed edition was sold out quickly and in April 2019 the second edition followed. Also on the second edition, a signed copy can be ordered directly from the publisher.

Band

Zimbl

Markus Ernst Eugen Zimmer
Gesang / Bass
Geboren : 7. Oktober 1964
†18. Juni 2006

mehr Infos »

 

Klube

Frank Klubescheidt
Schlagzeug
Geboren: 17. August 1962

mehr Infos »

 

Reb

Michael Rebbig
Gitarre
Geboren: 10. August 1967

mehr Infos »

 

Pogo

Thomas Möller
Gitarre
Geboren: 24. Dezember 1964

mehr Infos »

 

Dully

Tillmann Mathias Schüssler
Gitarre
Geboren: 5. Dezember 1975

mehr Infos »

 

Armin

Armin Beck
Gitarre
Geboren: 26. April 1963

mehr Infos »

 

Band – History

Die ausführlichere Band-History und die Konzert-History (Auflistung (fast) aller Bates-Konzerte) kannst Du hier jeweils als PDF herunterladen.

» Band-History (PDF) | » Konzert-History (PDF)

1987 Gründung von The Bates
The Bates – hervorgegangen aus “Sticky Fingers” und später “Nuclear Graffity” (oder “Nuclear Graffiti”) – gründen sich im Eschweger Jugendhaus. Die Band besteht zu dem Zeitpunkt aus Zimbl (Vocals, Bass), Klube (Drums), Pogo (Rhythmusgitarrist) und Armin (Lead-Gitarrist). Den Namen vom “Psycho”-Helden Norman Bates. The Bates benannten sich nach dem verrückten Muttersöhnchen Norman Bates aus dem Film “Psycho” von Alfred Hitchcock. Den Film hatten Zimbl und seine Freunde in einer Sommernacht angeschaut.

1987 / 1988
Zwischen 1987 und 1988 entstehen Demoaufnahmen. Unter anderem das erste Demo der Bates, das “Blood in the Shower”-Tape. Erste “richtige” Aufnahmen im Studio folgen. Diese sind später (teilweise) auf der Bonustracksversion von “No Name for the Baby” und Jahre später 2 der Titel als letzte beide Tracks beim Neurelease von “Shake!” bei Virgin zu finden. Samplerbeitrag 1988: “Wet Look” auf dem LP-Sampler “Not great for great Men” bei Weckewerk Records.

1989
Weitere Beiträge auf Samplern: “Who’s that Girl” und “I want You back again” in leicht anderen Versionen auf dem Sampler “Rock around Kassel” (Na Nu Records) sowie “As Tears go by” auf dem “The Ghost of Brian”-Sampler namens “The Brian Jones Memorial Album” (Black Fantasy Records) – Jones war sozusagen der Held für Zimbl, Armin und Heinz Ende der 70er – heuert die Band bei Black Fantasy Records an. Das Album “No Name for the Baby” wird eingespielt und – um Coverversionen bereichert – veröffentlicht.

1990
Mittlerweile gibt es den Fanclub der Band. Die Band nimmt ihr zweites Album “Shake!” auf. Nach Fertigstellung aber vor Veröffentlichung des Albums verlässt Lead-Gitarrist Armin Beck die Band. Kurzzeitig kommt für einige Wochen ein anderer Gitarrist in die Band. Er nimmt aber weder Demos noch sonstige Aufnahmen mit auf und absolviert auch keinen Liveauftritt mit der Band. Die Band testet Gitarristen und stellt – vorerst auf Probe – im Herbst 1990 Reb ein. Er soll bei der Herbst- und Wintertour die Leadgitarre spielen und danach ersetzt werden. Die Band sichert sich den Support-Act bei der Weihnachtstour von “Peter and the Test Tube Babies”.

1991
Wieder steht die Band zu dritt da. Zwangsläufig folgt – nach einigen Konzerten zu dritt – die Suche nach einem neuen Gitarristen. Monatelang finden keine Konzerte statt. Zimbl und Klube gründen in dieser Zeit die Band The Suzies, schreiben Songs. Im (frühen) Sommer 1991 wird Reb wieder in der Band eingestellt – die Bates sind wieder zu viert. Am 31.10.1991 findet nach etlichen Monaten Konzertpause in Eschwege wieder ein Konzert der Band statt.

1992
The Bates wechseln das Label und heuern bei Snoop Records an. Erstmals in der Großstadt, in Berlin Kreuzberg in den Vielklang-Studios entsteht der 3. Longplayer “Psycho Junior”. Das Album wird im Oktober 1992 veröffentlicht, bis Ende des Jahres finden ab Sommer ca. 30 Konzerte statt.

1993
Aufgrund vertraglicher Verpflichtungen wird bei Snoop Records das erste Live-Album “Unfucked” veröffentlicht. The Bates bekommt bei der Plattenfirma Virgin nach ein Paar Vorspielen für Labels einen Major-Deal. Abermals in Berlin wird im Herbst 1993 das Debut bei Virgin, “The Bates” veröffentlicht. Im Winter folgt der erste Dreh eines professionellen Videoclips. Fredrik Boklund leistet in Stockholm mit dem Dreh des Clips “Hello” gute Arbeit.

1994
Die Single “Hello” wird herausgebracht. Das Album “The Bates” wird veröffentlicht. Die Band erlangt erstmals bundesweite Bekanntheit (gerade durch das Cover des Hits “Hello” von Shakespear’s Sister). The Bates treten bei ihrem ersten nennenswerten TV-Auftritt bei “RTL Samstag Nacht” auf. Erstmals gibt es eine Promotion-Tour für ein Album. Im April startet die “Bubblegumtrash”-Tour, erstmals mit Konzerten unter der Woche. Die Single zu “I’m alright” kommt heraus. Zahlreiche Open Air-Auftritte. Kontakte zu Die Ärzte entstehen. Im Herbst 1994 beginnen in Berlin die Aufnahmen für “Pleasure + Pain”. In Stockholm wird mit “Say it isn’t so” Ende des Jahres das zweite professionelle Video gedreht.

1995
Die Single “Say it isn’t so” erscheint. Wenige Wochen später wird “Pleasure + Pain” veröffentlicht. Das Album kann sich monatelang (30 Wochen gesamt) in den Charts halten und schafft dreimal den Wiedereinstieg. Ende Mai 1995 dreht die Band mit dem österreichischen Regie-Duo Dirk Meints & Toni Weiss (DoRo) ihren wohl professionellsten Videoclip, ein Kurz-Remake des Films “Psycho”, unterlegt mit einer sehr gelungenen Coverversion von Michael Jacksons Song “Billy Jean”/”Billie Jean”. Die Single zu “Billie Jean” wird veröffentlicht und das Video findet sehr guten Anklang auf den Musiksendern. Die Band spielt eine sehr erfolgreiche Frühjahrstour und auf etlichen Open Airs. Die Bekanntheit wächst extrem, Pop Rocky und Bravo werden auf die Band aufmerksam. Im Herbst beginnt die vielbeachtete Herbst-Tour, der eine Weihnachtstour folgt. Ende 1995 wird zum dritten mal ein Clip in Schweden gedreht:”A real cool Time”. Die Single kann nicht an den Erfolg von “Billie Jean” anknüpfen. Im Dezember folgt eine Übertragung eins der Konzerte der Weihnachtstour auf Viva.

1996
Die Band spielte bereits hunderte Konzerte. Im TV waren The Bates seit ihrem Erfolg von “Billie Jean” und “Pleasure + Pain” sehr präsent. Im Frühjahr 1996 beginnen – mittlerweile in der neuen Heimat Kassel – im “Basement Room No. 1? – die Aufnahmen zu “Kicks ‘n’ Chicks”. In Wien werden gleich 2 Videoclips hintereinander gedreht. “It’s getting Dark”, ein Vampir-Video, und “Poor Boy”, die Veräppelung des Beat-Club, erscheinen als Singles und Videoclips. Im August wird “Kicks ‘n’ Chicks” veröffentlicht. Die Band spielt zahlreiche Konzerte und viele Open Air-Auftritte.

1997
Die Band ist vollkommen ausgelaugt und muss nach Veröffentlichung der zweiten Live-Platte “What a beautiful Noise” im Januar und der Tour im März 1997 eine Pause einlegen. Klube litt unter dem “Burnout-Syndrom”, Zimbl hatte überdurchschnittlich zu trinken angefangen. Zimbl versucht, den Alkoholkonsum einzuschränken, nachdem er sich einer freiwilligen Entgiftung unterzogen hatte. Im Herbst 1997 erscheint überraschend fast 6 Monate vor einem neuen Album nach vielen Monaten Live-Abstinenz und totaler Sendepause die Single “Independent Love Song”, eine Coverversion von Scarlet. Erneut in Wien gedreht erleben wir diesmal ein Remake zu “Das Schweigen der Lämmer”. Die Aufnahmen zu einem neuen Album -”Intra Venus” – beginnen.

1998
Nach gut einem Jahr Live-Abstinenz gibt es nach Veröffentlichung von “Intra Venus” ab dem Frühjahr wieder Live-Konzerte. Am 7.8.1998 findet (nachträglich) zum 10-jährigen Bestehen der Band ein Fanclubtreffen bei Kassel statt. Hier kann erstmals die veröffentlichte VHS-Kassette “The Bates – Videoclips” mit allen Videoclips bis “Independent Love Song” gekauft werden. Eine Person wird mit dem Schreiben einer Bandbiografie – Arbeitstitel “Die ganze halbe Wahrheit” – beauftragt. Diese Biografie wird niemals fertiggeschrieben und natürlich ebenso wenig veröffentlicht. Stattdessen spielen die Bates im Herbst 1998 eine limitierte Fanclub-EP namens “Punk?” ein, welche neben einem Bandcomic namens “The Devil’s Ponk Band!” – gezeichnet von Klaus Cornfield – erscheint. Zu “Be my Baby” erscheint eine stark limitierte Single – ein Videoclip wird nicht gedreht. 28.12.1998: für Pogo bedeutet das Konzert in der Frankfurter Batschkapp seinen Abschied bei The Bates. Aufgrund des Zurückschraubens der Wichtigkeit der Band bleibt den restlichen Mitgliedern scheinbar keine Wahl. The Bates – Klube, Zimbl und Reb – stehen zu dritt da.

1999
Die Suche nach einem zweiten Gitarristen zieht sich hin. The Bates spielen ihr Album “Right here! Right now!” zu dritt ein. Erstmals gibt es ein Album der Band als Limited Edition mit Bonus-CD. Mit Dully findet die Band in einem alten Freund der Band einen neuen Gitarristen. Mit ihm zusammen wird im Sommer in Wien der Clip zu “Bitter End” gedreht. Die “Right here! Right now!”-Herbsttour 1999 beginnt am 10.09.1999 – erstmals mit Dully. Diese Tour endet am 6.11.1999 in Köln im TV-Studio von Viva. Dort wird ein Konzert (“Viva Overdrive Soundfoundation”) aufgezeichnet, das Tage später gekürzt ausgestrahlt wird. Anfang Dezember 1999 beginnt die Wintertour der Band. Sie endet mit einem Nachholkonzert am 6.1.2000 in Fulda.

2000
Im Frühjahr wird ein reines Cover-Album – “2nd Skin”- eingespielt – erstmals mit Dully im Studio. Ende April fliegt die Band als Supportact für Lolita No. 18 für wenige Konzerte nach Japan. Es entsteht auf den Straßen und in der U-Bahn Tokios der letzte Videoclip der Band. Lolita No. 18 begleiten The Bates im Gegenzug als Support-Act nach Deutschland. Mitte/Ende Mai 2000 beginnt die “2nd Skin”-Tour. Sie endet am 26.08.2000 mit einem abgesagten Konzert. Nach etwa zweiwöchiger Erholungspause spielt die Band eine Herbsttour zu “2nd Skin”. Sie beginnt am 12.09. in Nattheim und endet am 7.10.2000 mit dem letzten Bateskonzert in Neunburg vorm Wald/Bayern. Nach diesem Konzert gibt es The Bates nicht mehr. Eine geplante Weihnachtstour wird vorzeitig gestrichen.

2001
Offiziell trennen sich die Wege der Band im Mai 2001.

2006
Gründungsmitglied Markus “Zimbl” Zimmer (Gesang / Bass) verstirbt am 18. Juni 2006 viel zu früh im Alter von lediglich 41 Jahren in seiner Wohnung in Kassel. Die Todesursache war ein Kreislaufkollaps mit Herzstillstand. Für Zimbl wurde am 28.12.2006 im Kassler “Spot” ein Gedenk-Tribute veranstaltet. Auf diesem Tribute spielten viele Bands (u.a Vicki Vomit, Planlos, The Bad Days, etc ..) eigene und Bates-Songs. Auch alle ehmaligen Band-Miglieder der Bates traten am diesen Abend mit Ihren Bands auf. Der Höhepunkt des Abends war mit Sicherheit der gemeinsame Auftritt von Klube, Reb, Pogo, Dully und Armin, die gemeinsam ca. 30 Minuten Bates-Songs spielten. Es war quasi das erste Bates-Konzert seit 6 Jahren. Zum Tribute erschien auch ein limitierter 3-CD-Sampler “A Tribute To Zimbl – Rocking On Heaven’s Door”. Dieser war nach nur wenigen Tagen ausverkauft. Der Erlös des Tributes wurde für gute Zwecke gespendet.

2007
The Bates spielen mit anderen Bands am 28.12.2007  in der Weinberghalle in Frieda live unter dem Motto “A Trip To Zimbl”. Auch hier wurde der Erlös wieder für gute Zwecke gespendet.

2009
Am 04.07.2009 treten The Bates unter dem Motto “Bates & Friends – Welcome To The Bates Motel” mit anderen Bands zusammen auf. Leider fehlte Pogo bei dieser Veranstaltung. Zur Veranstaltung erschien auch die CD “Welcome To The Bates Motel”, die rare alte Bates-Versionen und ein Live-Mitschnitt vom Konzert im Kasseler Spot von 1990 enthält.

2011
Am 17.12.2011 treten The Bates im E-Werk Eschwege auf. Auch hier stand natürlich wieder der gute Zweck im Vordergrund. Anders als bei den vergangenen Bates & Friends Veranstaltungen, handelte es ich diesmal nicht um einen kleinen Gig am Rande, sondern die Bates spielten dieses Mal ein „richtiges Konzert“ mit diemal „nur“ 2 Vorbands (Reimanns und Radio Havanna). Das E-Werk war restlos ausverkauft.

2012
The Bates treten am 04.05.2012 im Knust Hamburg im Rahmen des Fanräume-Festivals auf (ca. 1 Stunde). Alle Künstler haben auf die Gage verzichtet und für den guten Zweck gespendet.

2014
Nach der Übernahme von EMI (übernahm zuvor Virgin Records) durch das Label Universal Music, wurde das Best-Of-Album „The Bates Collection“ veröffentlicht. Es handelt sich um einen Sampler, der 3 CD’s enthält. Die Band wurde in die Planungen des Releases nicht einbezogen, was teilweise durch die Auswahl und die chronologische Anordnung der Songs und vor Allem das Artwork deutlich wird. Nichtsdestotrotz handelt es sich um ein offizielles Release und ist durchaus kaufenswert.

2018
Im Dezember 2018 wurde Klubes Buch „Klube & The Bates“ beim Verlag „Scharzkopf & Schwarzkopf“ veröffentlicht. Dieses Buch ist die lang ersehnte „offizielle“ Biografie der Bates, die er zusammen mit Autor Christof Dörr geschrieben hat. Die 1. handsignierte Auflage war schnell vergriffen und im April 2019 folgte die 2. Auflage. Auch bei der 2. Auflage kann ein handsigniertes Exemplar direkt beim Verlag bestellet werden.